Release 0.279


General Changes

  • Fix a bug in CombineApproxPercentileFunctions optimization that caused query failures when there were duplicate aggregation expressions.

  • Fix disaggregated coordinator task limit enforcement.

  • Fix weighted fair scheduling in disaggregated coordinator.

  • Fix max(x, n) and min(x, n) returning NULL on window aggregations.

  • Add an optimization that removes redundant distinct if the output is already distinct after a group by operation. The optimization is controlled by session property remove_redundant_distinct_aggregation which is default to false.

  • Add function array_sort_desc() to sort an array in the descending order.

  • Add function map_remove_null_values() to remove all the entries where the value is null from a given map.

  • Add function map_top_n_keys() to returns an array of the top N keys of the provided map. An optional lambda comparator can also be passed to perform a custom comparison of the keys. Returns all the keys if the value N is greater than or equal to size of the map. For N < 0, the function returns keys in the reverse order. For N = 0, the function returns empty array.

  • Add function map_top_n_values() to return top N values of the provided map. An optional lambda comparator can also be passed as parameter for custom sorting of the values.

  • Add function map_top_n() to truncate map items, keeping only the top N elements by value.

  • Add function remove_nulls() to remove null elements from an array.

  • Add functions array_min_by(), array_max_by(), to find the smallest or largest element of an array when applying a custom measuring function.

  • Extend functions array_frequency(), array_duplicates(), array_has_duplicates(), array_intersect(array(array(E))() to accept any type as input instead of only varchar/double.

  • Add CONTROL as a new QueryType. The CONTROL queryType represents statements of session control and transaction control types.

  • Remove two unused session parameters - hash_based_distinct_limit_enabled and hash_based_distinct_limit_threshold and the corresponding implementation in favor of the quick_distinct_limit_enabled feature.

Elasticsearch Connector Changes

  • Add support for Elasticsearch user and password authentication. #15909.

Hive Connector Changes

  • Fix a bug when optimize_metadata_queries is set to true where queries with aggregations on partition columns and filters on row subfields could return wrong results.

  • Disable S3 Select pushdown when the query does not have a predicate or projection.

Iceberg Connector Changes

  • Update Iceberg from 0.14.1 to 1.0.0.

Pinot Connector Changes

  • Add pushdown support for function STRPOS().

PostgreSQL Connector Changes

  • Add support for PostgreSQL UUID Data type.

Delta Lake Changes

  • Upgrade Delta Standalone to 0.6.0.

Spark Changes

  • Add property spark_executor_allocation_strategy_enabled to auto-tune spark max executor count (spark.dynamicAllocation.maxExecutors) based on input data. Only required if spark_resource_allocation_strategy_enabled is not already enabled.

  • Add property spark_hash_partition_count_allocation_strategy_enabled to auto-tune hash partition count (hash_partition_count) based on input data. Only required if spark_SPI_allocation_strategy_enabled is not already enabled.

Open Telemetry Changes

  • Introduce a new Open Telemetry tracer implementation. The legacy tracer module can be replaced by the new plugin for loading customized tracing infrastructure. Users are able to enable the tracer by installing the presto-open-telemetry plugin and updating the application configuration ( Open Telemetry tracer can take in propagated context (only B3 specification currently supported) and baggage (W3C specification) headers, if provided, and inject into new traces / spans. Traces can be exported to any specified backend with the OTEL_EXPORTER_OTLP_ENDPOINT environment variable.

SPI Changes

  • Rename ConnectorMaterializedViewDefinition to MaterializedViewDefinition.


Aditi Pandit, Alex Chen, Amit Dutta, Anant Aneja, Arjun Gupta, Arunachalam Thirupathi, Asjad Syed, Avinash Jain, Beinan, Christopher Graves, Deepak Majeti, Devesh Agrawal, Eduard Tudenhoefner, Feilong Liu, Ge Gao, George Wang, Guy Moore, Hope Wang, James Petty, James Sun, Jaromir Vanek, Jingmei Huang, Jon Janzen, Josh Soref, JoshuaTang, Karteek Murthy Samba Murthy, Krishna Pai, Linkiewicz, Milosz, Linsong Wang, Lyublena Antova, MJ Deng, Masha Basmanova, Michael Shang, Nizar Hejazi, Pramod, Pranjal Shankhdhar, Pratyaksh Sharma, Pratyush Verma, Rebecca Schlussel, Reetika Agrawal, Rohit Jain, Sacha Viscaino, Sergey Pershin, Sergii Druzkin, Sreeni Viswanadha, Swapnil Tailor, Timothy Meehan, Vivek, Ying, Zac, Zhenxiao Luo, abhiseksaikia, ajantha-bhat, dnnanuti, dnskr, pen4, singcha, suheng, tanjialiang, v-jizhang, wangd, xiaoxmeng